Acces nonvoyant, recommandé pour les personnes utilisant une synthèse vocale
Accueil

Accueil > VISITE DU PALAIS > Visite guidée > Court of appeal

11 juin 2008

Court of appeal

 

 

 

entrée-premiere-chambre

Entrance to the first chamber

Inaugurated in 1891, the first chamber of the Appeal Court was built in the place of the previous Auditor's Chamber which, under its new title of Court of Auditors, left the Palace in 1840.The chamber is lit by tall windows that give on to the courtyard of the Sainte-Chapelle, and particular care was taken with its decoration. The ceiling in boxwood highlighted in gold has a canvas by the painter Bonnat in the center. Gobelins tapestries are hung on the walls.Magistrates, lawyers and clerks of the court take their oaths in this chamber.

The first chamber of the Appeal Court

premiere-chambre

First chamber

First chamber of the Appeal Court inaugurated on October 16, 1891 in the place of the Chamber of Auditors, the work of the architect Dommey. The back wall has two bas reliefs in gilded wood donated to the Chamber of Auditors by Henry II and a Gobelins tapestry which tells the story of Esther.

 

vue-d-angle

Angle view

Angle view of the first chamber of the Appeal Court.

plafond-de-la-premiere-chambre

Ceiling of the first chamber

Ceiling of the first chamber of the Appeal Court. This 1901 painting by Bonnat represents Justice protected by Truth separating the good from the evil. It was renovated in 1976.

 

bureau-procureur-general

Office of the District Attorney

Office of the District Attorney of the Appeal Court. On the left wall, a Gobelins tapestry evokes the crowning of Esther.

 

bureau-premier-president

The office of the head magistrate

View of the office of the head magistrate of the Appeal Court

haut-de-page

 

pied de page